I'm Carole and I live with my husband Paul and son Lucas in the medieval village Condat-sur-Vézère in the Périgord Noir, Dordogne. Together with our dog and two cats. We are originally from Holland and we came to live here in 2020. We love to make music (jazz, blues, swing, folk). Our estate, consists of 6 buildings around a courtyard who were in bad shape when we came here. There is still a lot of work to do in most of the buildings and in the garden and 5 HA land around the buildings. As we are 70 and 55 years old we can not do all the work ourselves and need some help.

Alongside local hired help in renovation and house cleaning, we are looking for 2-6 helpers for all the daily tasks on this estate.


Your accommodation
You will be staying in a fully equiped renovated spacious holiday home. There are 3 bedrooms, for a max. of 6 people. Two toilets, one bathroom with Italian shower, a kitchen, a large living room and your own private garden.

We also have a large chambre d’hôte available for 2 people.

The bedlinen will be provided as well as the towels. We have excellent fibre internet. And a smart television with Netflix and Youtube. We lunch together every day, at night you will be preparing your own meals. Of course all groceries are at our expends.

The area is really lovely. You can go for long walks, biking trips and we have a swimming pool. We live near the prehistorical caves of Lascaux in Montignac. The valley of the Vézère river containts plenty more historical sites and castles you can visit. Two towns in the neighbourhood are Terrasson-Lavilledieu and Montignac-Lascaux in which you find restaurants, cinemas and terrasses.


You can practise your French, English and Dutch with us. Paul is a music teacher (jazz theory and harmony) and he knows a lot about home improvement. Carole is a singer and can help you to improve your vocal talents.
Also we can offer to take you on trips to the sites and the castles if you like. Furthermore Paul can teach you how to prepare several Indonesian dishes.


The help we need

We hire local tradespeople for renovation work. However we could use help with:
- Cleaning 200 year old cellars
- clearing debris
- garden: pruning trees, mowing bush, leveling ground, making a vegetable garden
- repairing old garden walls: laying bricks and grouting
- paint
- various household activities including cooking for the volunteers and doing your own laundry
- organize a brocante / flee market
- helping with social media

We are looking for strong, handy people, who are not afraid to climb a ladder or dirtying their hands. You will be helping us around 4 hours a day, preferably in the morning.


Like we said there are a lot of interesting local sights and markets in the neighborhood. A car can be used in some cases. A train station is very nearby (Condat-Le Lardin) with connections to Bordeaux and Brive-la Gaillarde/Paris.

So if your interested please contact us

Here are some old pictures. Much work has already been done but there is always room voor further improvement.

For more information check the rest of the website

Our former volunteers









Juan with Carole


Linda en Robin




Juan en Paula


Sophie and Horace